Beringer Wines Grill-Off Competition


A big thank you to the fabulous folks over at Beringer Wines for hosting me in Washington D.C. for their Grill-Off.

Here I am with Paula Deen’s sons: The Deen Brothers!

Grillin’ in action…with the Food Network camera rolling…

Me n’ my Grill Master…these grills were amazing!

I had such an amazing time and truly enjoyed meeting all of the other regional grillers.


And now, for my Regional Finalist Winning Recipe:

Balsamic Encrusted Fillet Mignon with Goat Cheese

Wine Pairing: Beringer’s Pinot Noir

Ingredients

  • 2 (12 oz.) Fillet Mignon’s
  • 2 Tbsp. Organic Tomato Sauce
  • 1/2 Red Onion, chopped
  • 1/3 cup Pumpkin Seeds
  • 1/4 cup Bran Crumbs
  • 1/2 ripe Avocado, mashed
  • Dash of Sea Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • Dash of chili powder
  • Handful of Fresh Cilantro, chopped
  • Handful of Fresh Basil, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons Goat Cheese
  • Lemon wedges, juice for topping
  • 2 Tablespoons Balsamic vinegar

Directions

  1. Heat grill to high.
  2. Combine bran, pumpkin seeds, fresh cilantro, avocado, tomato sauce, red onion, fresh basil, chili powder, Sea-Salt and pepper in a food processor; blend until mixture is the consistency of paste.
  3. Spoon a thick layer of the pumpkin seed mixture on top of each fillet.
  4. Lay each fillet on the hot grill; cook till desired doneness.
  5. Serve each fillet with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, a squeeze of fresh lemon and a dollop of Goat Cheese.
  6. Enjoy!


12 Responses

  1. How neat! Your recipe sounds delicious. I would love to meet the Deen brothers — although I’d love to meet Paula one day as well!

    • Thanks so much, Holly! It was a fabulous trip and I had such a great time down in DC meeting the Deen brothers, but I agree Paula would have been a hoot with her ‘butter’, hehe! Have a great day!

  2. Congrats lady, you look beautiful! I love the combo of the balsamic and goat cheese.

    • Awww; thanks so much, Mellissa….I appreciate it! Hope all is well with you. Enjoy the remainder of your summer! xoxo.

  3. You go girl! Keep it up and one day maybe we’ll see you on Food Network with your own show!!

    • Awww; thanks so much, Karen….that’s my dream!!!! Thank you for your support and your comment; I greatly appreciate it. Hope all is well and have a great day. Thank you again for your positive support….The Next Food Network Star…here I come, hehe…now I’m really dreaming! Best, Amie

  4. Sounds like a wonderful event…The recipe is fantastic 🙂

    • Thanks so much; I greatly appreciate your comment! Have a wonderful weekend. Best, Amie

  5. Looks like you had lots of fun! And you look so good on the picture!

    Thanks for the add in Foodbuzz.
    Angie

    • Aww; thanks so much, Angie. I greatly appreciate your kind words and thank you for visiting my blog. Have a great day! Best, Amie

  6. Yum. This sounds like it was a fantastic opportunity and your steak sounds so good.

    • Aw; thank you so much, Kelly. You are so supportive and I really appreciate your comments! You brightened my day. Thank you; have a great night! Best, Amie

Leave a Reply

