Lentil, Collard n’ Fig Tapenade


Well, yesterday was quite a stormy one here in Manhattan…

Strong wind gusts, lots of rain and a broken umbrella left me with one choice.

Experimentation in my lil’ kitchen.

I purchased some fresh collard greens on Saturday at the Union Square Market, so I surely had to taste them.  Next step, my lentils, as you’re all aware of my love-affair with lentils.  And why not a touch of natural sweetness from my fresh figs, apple, pear n’ balsamic vinegar.

Mmmmm….

Pure heaven on a rainy, blustery day…

So, guess what I whipped up…

I toasted two pieces of gluten-free bread and topped them each with this delicious tapenade.

Lentil, Collard n’ Fig Tapenade

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 cups collard greens, chopped
  • 4 scallions, chopped
  • 2 cups red lentils, cooked
  • 1 pink lady apple, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1 red bartlett pear, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. dulse flakes
  • 6 fresh figs, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 cup button mushrooms, chopped
  • Sea salt and pepper, to taste

Directions

  1. Steam collard greens in a steamer until bright green and soft; approximately 5 minutes.  Transfer to a plate; dab with a paper towel.
  2. Add collard greens and remaining ingredients into a food processor; process until smooth.
  3. Transfer mixture to a serving bowl.
  4. Serve at room temperature as a dip with corn chips, crudites and gluten-free pretzels.
  5. Enjoy!

Also, be sure to check out my tasty Dilmah tea recipes on Gloria’s Tea Cuppe.

I’ve created some delicious tea-infused dishes that I hope you’ll enjoy!

Green Tea Sweet Potato Soup

Grilled Tuna with Green Tea Coconut Sauce

Vanilla Tea Infused Fruit

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 8,622 other followers